New France c. 1750


Map Code: Ax00676

The vast territory of New France was divided into Pays d’en Haut, Hudson’s Bay, Acadia and Newfoundland. By the 1713 Treaty of Utrecht, mainland Acadia, Newfoundland and Hudson’s Bay were ceded to Britain, but France established the new colony of Ile Royale. Throughout its existence, New France would be lightly settled compared to the rival English colonies. In part, this was due to the remote and inhospitable territory, deep in the continent’s interior and beset by often hostile Indian tribes. Another key factor was the dominance of the fur trade. Furs, because of their high value and portability, were a highly attractive commodity, very investible, and the mainstay of the New France economy. However, this preoccupation inhibited the development of a stable programme of agrarian settlement. Instead French influence throughout much of its territory was either through missionaries or the nomadic coureurs du bois (fur-trappers).

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions