Mysore and Dominions 1704


Map Code: Ax02284

The Kingdom of Mysore was founded in around 1399 and was ruled by the Wodeyar family until 1950. Chikka Devaraja Wodeyar II, who ruled between 1673 and 1704, instituted important reforms to the administration of the Hindu state, following Mughal methods, which enabled the growing state to become more efficient, especially in the field of tax collection. He also established the state’s first postal service. Devaraja managed to expand his territory by creating alliances with the Marathas and later the Mughals. His territories would expand to include the important cities of Bangalore in the north and Coimbator in the south. However, the state remained landlocked, and to correct this Devajara attempted to expand through the Kanara region, though with mixed results. This would be corrected during the reign of his successor.

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
Categories: / /
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions