Division of Alexander’s Empire c. BCE 275


Map Code: Ax01083

After Alexander the Great died in 323 BCE, he left behind a vast empire comprised of independent territories, which extended from Macedonia to India, Egypt and eastern Mediterranean. There was no clear successor to Alexander, which created conflict between many of his commanders, who were greedy for land and power. This resulted in a divided kingdom and four Successor Wars, which lasted for the next quarter of a century and ended in c. 300 BCE. After this time, there were few territorial changes and by 275 BCE the empire had been partitioned into three great kingdoms: the Seleucid kingdom in Asia; Ptolemaic Egypt and Antigonid Macedonia. They were named after Alexander’s victorious generals and all, ultimately, became dynasties. The Hellenistic province continued to be unstable and in 275 BCE was ruled by Lysimachus, one of Alexander’s officers, in alliance with King Pyrrhus, a second cousin to Alexander the Great.

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions