Central Europe 1810


Map Code: Ax02490

By 1810, Napoleon Bonaparte’s domination of continental Europe seemed unchallengeable. Five enemy coalitions had been formed against him: each had been militarily outclassed and forced to sue for peace on humiliating terms. The War of the Third Coalition had ended in 1806 with the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire and the creation of the Confederation of the Rhine, a string of French satellite states including the Kingdoms of Bavaria and Württemberg. A year later the Fourth Coalition was crushed, with Prussia losing half of its territory to newly created French puppet republics, notably the Kingdom of Westphalia and the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. The Fifth Coalition fared no better: its leader, the Austrian Empire,  lost 20 percent of its territory in the Treaty of Schönbrunn (1809) and with it their access to the Mediterranean through French annexation of the Illyrian Provinces. Russia had escaped relatively lightly from its participation in the Fourth Coalition, but Tsar Alexander was forced to become France’s ally in the subsequent conflict and to join the Continental System, Napoleon’s trade embargo of Britain, with ruinous consequences for the Russian economy. Breaches of that embargo would provoke Napoleon’s disastrous 1812 invasion of Russia and the end of his European supremacy.

Occasionally we create highly complex maps, with a very high level of detail, which can be reproduced as wall charts or studied in depth. The price of £9.99 reflects the enhanced complexity of these maps. These maps are included in all subscription packages.

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions