Canada – Development of Provinces 1912


Map Code: Ax00819

The Gold Rush in the Yukon Territory from 1896 had sharpened a festering border dispute between Canada and the US District of Alaska. This dispute was finally resolved in 1903, largely in America’s favour. In 1905, the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were created by enlarging the former districts through the absorption of the districts of Assiniboia and Athabaska. In 1912, the provinces of Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba were all expanded northward to their present-day boundaries. Quebec absorbed the whole of the district of Ungava, Manitoba and Ontario’s border with Northwest Territories was fixed at the 60th parallel. The residual Northwest Territories now comprised the Districts of Keewatin, Franklin and Mackenzie.

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions