Canada – Development of Provinces 1949


Map Code: Ax00820

Canada is divided into administrative divisions, known as provinces. The provinces have their own constitutions and control their own decision making whereas, in contrast, the territories are directly ruled by the federal government. The first four provinces were formed in 1867 and were Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. The number of provinces grew over time and in 1949 Newfoundland joined as the tenth province. Prior to this, Newfoundland was a separate British colony and considered a full dominion of the British Empire. The decision to join Canada was a controversial one, with many Newfoundlanders voting for self-government. Eventually, by a narrow margin, Newfoundland became part of the Canadian confederacy.

Want a discount? Become a member by purchasing Personal Subscription – Annually
Categories: /
All of our downloadable maps are provided as JPEG at 300 DPI and a minimum of 1500px wide.
  • Different Formats

    Different Formats

  • Different Formats

    Request Variations

  • Institution Subscriptions

    Institution Subscriptions